Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (2024)

Truist Reviews

5

20%

4

19%

3

14%

2

7%

1

41%

2.7

3,062 reviews

3,062 reviews

What's Your Rating?

Tasha L

@TL_SRVC

1 Star Rating

It is deeply concerning and distressing to communicate with this bank. I fell victim to fraudulent charges totaling $1800 and only encountered a lack of support and resolution from this financial institution. Despite the prompt reporting of the unauthorized transactions on 04/25/2024 and diligent efforts to prove my innocence through multiple interactions with the bank—including reaching out directly to the merchants advising that the charges were fraudulent—I was met with frustrating denials and demands for additional proof. The police report has been overlooked and is seemingly insignificant in this bank's eyes. I also advised the representatives at this bank, as well as Melony Johnson (Customer Relations), that the merchants have been notified by me and they are waiting on Truist to submit the claim so that they can refund the money. Truist did nothing! The failure of Truist to address the issue and the unresponsiveness of key personnel like Customer Advocate Melony Johnson have undoubtedly exacerbated the situation, leaving me, the customer, feeling unheard and unsupported in my pursuit of justice and financial security. So people, be very wary of using this bank!

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

Gail Nutt

@tgnutt

1 Star Rating

Worst bank ever! Since the day I opened my account, I knew it was the wrong thing to do. I have not been able to pay bills or make transfers ever since I opened this account. I am so upset and angry. My credit score is plummeting, and I have worked so hard to pay my bills on time. I'm going to close my account with them and try to salvage whatever I can of my financial situation.

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

Ch Wh

@Irishchrstn

1 Star Rating

I've been a long-term customer, which I discovered means nothing to them. I have an overdraft protection/Ready Now Line that I've used in the past for weekend emergencies. This weekend, in 95-degree heat, my A/C quit on Sunday and I was able to get someone out with the promise to Zelle them immediate payment. To my surprise, I was unable to utilize my "Ready Now Line" to transfer funds into my checking to Zelle the payment to the man. Why? Because Truist made a new rule that access to "Ready Now Lines" and Zelle are now not available on weekends or after 9 PM on weekdays! No prior notification, nothing. So now I can't keep my promise to pay a tradesman who interrupted his weekend to fix my A/C. Thanks, Truist! I'm done with your services now!

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

ocmike_10

@ocmike_10

1 Star Rating

I've been a loyal customer for over 25 years. I have a high income and excellent credit, although I'm retired. Truist rejected a small personal loan, so I didn't have to withdraw funds from my retirement account at 20%. I will be closing all my accounts with them and finding another bank. Truist doesn't care about loyalty or their customers. Tired of arrogant banks that feel they don't need their customers, like Truist.

Product: Truist Personal Loans

Comment

teresa gouch

@gouchteresa

1 Star Rating

I opened an account, and less than a week later, before I even received a debit card, they sent a notice in the mail saying your account is blocked for suspected fraudulent use of your debit card. These people are running some kind of scam. The notice stated that if you made opening deposits, they would be returned. It has been several months, and instead of receiving my money back, I keep receiving the same notice every few weeks. No customer service has responded yet. The bank is fraudulent!

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

claire_e_hobbs

@claire_e_hobbs

1 Star Rating

AVOID THIS BANK! If I could give 0 stars, I would. Since they became Truist, this bank has outsourced all customer service abroad, and local branches don't pick up the phone. I needed to wire funds to purchase a home, and they could not accommodate my request, saying only business customers can wire funds. I tried to do an ACH transfer to another bank to get a cashier's check from them, which required a 2-3 day verification period. I ended up having to pay over $500 in fees to use an app like Venmo to get my money to the title company by the closing date. On top of that, they had the wrong address on file (despite my changing it) and an authorized user on the account we had removed 10 years ago. Unacceptable!

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

Janet QQ

@unekeone65

1 Star Rating

No such thing as customer service here—run as fast as you can! I had an account here when it was Abington Bank, and it transferred with the sale. I do not use these accounts often, but anytime I needed customer service, it was a nightmare. They do not know what the term means. Heavily accented customer service representatives who appear to follow a script rather than listen. So sad, as Abington Bank was great!

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

kham Francis

@missjouvert23

1 Star Rating

I have a business account with them. Every time you deposit a check, they will release $100.00, which is okay, but this time they have my money on lockdown. I have to wait until 05/20/24 for them to release my funds. I call, I beg, even though it's my money, and all they can say is, "I understand." Seriously, don't tell me you understand if you have never been in my shoes. I'm depending on this money to pay bills, and you'd think these people would show some humanity for a minute and release some of my money. I went to the bank on 17-92; the manager there tried to help, but that other one in the office straight across the entrance, I pray for her soul. She's one cold human being and likes to argue back with customers. I try everything to get them to release my money. They took out the overdraft already, so why not release the balance? I have to wait for 10 days. Is that even legal? And why is there so much wickedness in high places? I guess if you don't look a certain way or speak a certain way, you're left to suffer. But I tell you something, I'm looking into other banks. These people don't care about the poor man who works hard and does the right thing.

Product: Truist Business Services

Comment

scruggshorses

@scruggshorses

1 Star Rating

All I need is one word: horrible. I would not recommend it at all. If you bank there now, I highly suggest you withdraw your money and move it as soon as possible.

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

kim Adams

@kimber23267

1 Star Rating

Horrible, horrible, horrible institution. They made a huge mistake and have charged us three overdraft fees. After seven phone calls, we learned today that we have to file a paper complaint (which arrived in the mail today, 10 days after we noticed the problem), and there's no guarantee that the mistake will be corrected, and the overdraft fees removed. We loved SunTrust and never had an issue in more than 20 years of banking with them. Truist, however, has been problematic from the beginning. It's time to find a new bank!

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

carlosanayatv

@carlosanayatv

1 Star Rating

Terrible experience. I wasted 45 minutes with an overdraft fee. Simply a waste of energy to deal with customer service. I don't think I am going to recommend this bank to anyone.

Product: Truist Checking

Comment

stvnsjrn

@stvnsjrn

1 Star Rating

Tried to give less than 1 star, but that wasn't available, so I guess 1 star it is. Absolute worst bank I have ever been with. Their technology is literally duct-taped together and fails constantly. I just called them again to get an Apple Pay issue with their card resolved, and they connected me with seven different people at three different departments, who never had any idea what I was talking about and consistently missed the important details I shared with them. If you can avoid them, please do. They clearly spend all their budget on nice offices, not on customer service or IT.

Product: Truist Credit Cards

Comment

jo hart

@jordyk_0418

1 Star Rating

Absolutely ridiculous financial institution. Customer service is a joke. They took two loan payoffs from us, and it's been over a month and a half, and we still haven't received our money back. Every time we call, it's over an hour wait to speak to someone or a supervisor, and then there are more long waits once we finally get someone. Just keep getting the runaround when it comes to getting our money back. They took almost 30k from us, so waiting almost 2 months for anything is ridiculous. I would not recommend this bank to anyone. It's the worst institution I've ever worked with.

Product: Truist Car Loans

Comment

David Buchanan

@davidbujr

1 Star Rating

Absolutely no support on customer service calls. Rude call center and spiteful hold times. Over 1 hour of hold time to simply change auto draft. Unacceptable.

Product: Truist Car Loans

Comment

grantnobles20

@grantnobles20

1 Star Rating

If you use them, be prepared to receive poor service. This is the worst bank I've ever used. They've put me on hold multiple times for extended periods until they hang up, and the service is terrible.

Product: Truist Car Loans

Comment

Review Truist

Truist Q&A(321 questions)

Get answers to your questions about Truist below. Editorial and user-generated content is not provided, reviewed or endorsed by any company. Please keep in mind that it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.

15

Upvotes

How do you redeem SunTrust rewards?

Reply

15

3

Christie Matherne, Credit Card Writer

@christie_matherne

The easiest way you can redeem SunTrust (now Truist) rewards is by logging in to your online account and navigating to the rewards redemption section of their website. You can also redeem rewards through the Truist mobile app or by calling the Rewards Redemption Center at (800) 255-7125. If you redeem for travel over the phone, there's a $25 service fee.

SunTrust (now Truist) Rewards Redemption Options

  • Statement credit
  • Cash back
  • Travel purchases
  • Gift cards
  • Merchandise
  • Event tickets

If you redeem credits from any Truist credit card for a deposit into your Truist personal checking, savings or money market account, you'll get a "Loyalty Cash Bonus". The bonus could be 10%, 25% or 50% of your redemption, depending on the balances in all your Truist accounts. Higher balances mean a higher bonus. Cash redemptions into a Truist deposit account are always worth more than getting a normal statement credit.

If you have any trouble redeeming your rewards, call the Truist rewards customer service at (800) 255-7125.

1

6

Upvotes

How much is the Truist overdraft fee?

Reply

Lauren Smith, WalletHub Staff Writer

@laurenellesmith

Truist does not charge an overdraft fee because it will not approve transactions that would overdraw your account. If you want to avoid having transactions get declined due to insufficient funds, you could sign up for the Truist overdraft protection service. This allows you to transfer funds from a linked Truist deposit account, credit card, or line of credit to cover the purchase. Truist does not charge a fee for this service.

Popular Truist Checking...

show more

1

17

Upvotes

Reply

17

1

Bogdan Roberts, Credit Cards Moderator

@bogdan_roberts

No, there aren't any BB&T business rewards cards available right now. BB&T is now part of Truist Bank, so the closest you'll get to a BB&T business card is the Truist Business Credit Card, which does not offer rewards. The card offers an intro APR of 0% for 12 months on purchases, followed by a regular APR of 15.49%-24.49% (V).

To get rewards, you could use a general-consumer credit card from Truist Bank for business expenses. Plus, other...

show more

2

3

10

Upvotes

Reply

10

Maria Adams, Credit Cards Moderator

@m_adams

The BB&T credit cards used to offer rewards in the form of cash back and miles, depending on the card. However, it is worth noting that BB&T is now part of Truist Bank. The credit cards offered by Truist Bank give rewards in the form of cash back and miles, too.

Notable Truist Bank Rewards Credit Cards

  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (1)Cash Back:Truist Enjoy Cash credit cardTruist Enjoy Cash credit cardLearn MoreLearn More
  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (2)Travel:Truist Enjoy Travel credit cardTruist Enjoy Travel credit cardLearn MoreLearn More
  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (3)Initial Bonus:Truist Enjoy Beyond credit cardTruist Enjoy Beyond credit cardLearn MoreLearn More
  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (4)Secured:Truist Enjoy Cash Secured Credit CardTruist Enjoy Cash Secured Credit CardLearn MoreLearn More

It is worth noting that Truist Bank credit card rewards offer multiple redemption options....

show more

5

Upvotes

How can I pay my Truist credit card?

Reply

Maria Adams, Credit Cards Moderator

@m_adams

The easiest way you can pay your Truist credit card is either online or through the mobile app. Alternatively, you can make a credit card payment over the phone at (844) 487-8478, via mail, or at a Truist branch. The issuer does allow you to set up automatic payments, too.

How to Pay Your Truist Credit Card

  • Online: Log in to your online account and click on “Make a Payment.” Then, choose how much to pay, when to...

show more

3

Upvotes

How do I check my SunTrust credit card application status?

Reply

3

Sebi Mitchell, Credit Cards Moderator

@sebim

Unfortunately, you cannot check your SunTrust credit card application status anymore as the company no longer exists. SunTrust has merged with BB&T in February 2022 under the name of Truist. If you applied for a Truist credit card and wish to check your application status, you can do so by calling (844) 487-8478.

1

2

12

Upvotes

How do I apply for a SunTrust credit card?

Reply

12

Maria Adams, Credit Cards Moderator

@m_adams

You cannot apply for a SunTrust credit card anymore as the company no longer exists. SunTrust has merged with BB&T in February 2022 under the name of Truist. If you wish to apply for aTruist credit card, you can do soonline, over the phone at(844) 487-8478, or at abranch.

Here are some of the best Truist credit cards:

  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (5)Travel Rewards:Truist Enjoy Travel credit cardTruist Enjoy Travel credit cardLearn MoreLearn More
  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (6)Initial Bonus:Truist Enjoy Beyond credit cardTruist Enjoy Beyond credit cardLearn MoreLearn More
  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (7)Cash Back:Truist Enjoy Cash credit cardTruist Enjoy Cash credit cardLearn MoreLearn More
  • Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (8)Secured:Truist Enjoy Cash Secured Credit CardTruist Enjoy Cash Secured Credit CardLearn MoreLearn More

It is worth mentioning that most Truist credit cards require excellent credit...

show more

3

10

Upvotes

Reply

10

Bogdan Roberts, Credit Cards Moderator

@bogdan_roberts

No, BB&T does not offer any student credit cards. It is also worth mentioning that BB&T is now part of Truist Bank. However, if you're not set on this issuer, there are plenty of excellentstudent credit card optionsfrom other issuers to choose from. Student cards are also fairly easy to get, and terms and features are typically superior to those on traditional cards for people with limited credit.

When you get your first student credit card,...

show more

2

13

Upvotes

What's the SunTrust foreign transaction fee?

Reply

13

Bogdan Roberts, Credit Cards Moderator

@bogdan_roberts

The SunTrust foreign transaction fee is 0% for all of their credit cards. Foreign transaction fees are in play both when traveling abroad and when making purchases from internationally-based merchants. So, SunTrust credit cards will definitely serve you well in that regard.It is also worth mentioning that SunTrust is now part of Truist Bank.

Although the 0% foreign transaction fee is important, you should not make your decision based only on that. There...

show more

2

4

Upvotes

What is the usual SunTrust balance transfer fee?

Reply

4

2

Maria Adams, Credit Cards Moderator

@m_adams

The usual SunTrust balance transfer fee is 3% (min $10) of the amount of the transfer, whichever is greater. However, they do have a card that doesn't charge a balance transfer fee, and that's the SunTrust Prime Rewards Credit Card. You will need to have excellent (750+) credit to get it.

If you are looking to transfer a balance, some credit cards have no balance transfer fees. But sometimes, the best balance transfer credit cards will come with a longer 0% introductory APR period that warrants a balance...

show more

Truist Reviews: 3,062 User Ratings (2024)

FAQs

Is Truist a trustworthy bank? ›

Truist is best for customers looking to open a checking account where Truist branches are primarily found. But if you're looking for a high-yield savings account, it's best to look elsewhere, as these Truist accounts will do little to help grow your savings.

What is the customer satisfaction of Truist? ›

Truist, which formed when BB&T and SunTrust merged in late 2019, received a score of 631 out of 1,000 points for mobile app satisfaction this year. It placed at No. 7 among the nine banks. That's down from 651 points in 2023.

What is the overall rating of Truist? ›

Overall, Truist earns 3.7 out of 5 stars, with its checking accounts standing out for no overdraft fees and easily waivable account maintenance fees. Truist could be a great option for students or those who experience barriers to standard checking accounts.

What are the disadvantages of Truist? ›

Cons
  • Accounts from Truist Bank have plenty of fees and fine print to be aware of. In fact, there are hoops to jump through to avoid fees on most of its accounts.
  • Watch out for minimum opening balance requirements.

Is Truist Bank safe from collapse? ›

Truist was the only North Carolina-based bank among the banks that S&P assessed and was one of only two of the 10 deemed stable. The other was Synovus, based in Columbus, Georgia. S&P officials believe that these two banks have some factors that mitigate their risks.

How stable is Truist Bank? ›

The trend for all ratings is Stable. The Intrinsic Assessment (IA) for the Bank is AA, while its Support Assessment remains SA1. The Company's Support Assessment is SA3 and its Long-Term Issuer Rating is positioned one notch below the Bank's IA.

Why is Truist falling? ›

Truist's net interest income declined 4.2% to $3.43 billion, missing expectations, and net income margin slid 7 basis points (bps). The bank blamed “lower earning assets and higher funding costs.” However, noninterest income jumped 6.1% to $1.45 billion on higher investment banking and trading income.

What bank has the highest customer satisfaction? ›

Capital One received the highest customer satisfaction score among the largest banks in the United States as of 2023, with a score reaching 706 points out of 1,000. JPMorgan Chase, TD Bank, and U.S. Bank followed, while Bank of America, Wells Fargo, and Truist received the lowest scores.

What is Truist ranked? ›

Biggest Banks in the U.S.
Rank by Asset SizeBank NameTotal Assets
6.PNC Bank$554.11 billion
7.Goldman Sachs Bank$538.13 billion
8.Truist Bank$535 billion
9.Capital One$468.78 billion
6 more rows
May 14, 2024

Why is Truist Bank under review? ›

Moody's also highlighted concerns related to Truist's asset liability and interest rate risk management. The bank incurred substantial unrealized losses on its investment portfolio as the Federal Reserve raised the interest rates over the past two years, indicating weaknesses in risk management practices.

Is my money safe at Truist Bank? ›

Truist is FDIC insured. You'll be able to deposit up to $250,000 in an individual bank account and your money will be secure.

Which is better Wells Fargo or Truist? ›

Truist ranked 12th out of 27 banks and fintech companies, with a 728 score out of a possible 1,000. Meanwhile, Wells Fargo was 17th with a 714 score — which was the national average score.

Is Truist a good bank to use? ›

Today, Truist Bank is among the top 10 largest banks in the U.S. Truist has a good basic checking account but its savings rates are generally low.

Is Truist Bank healthy? ›

Truist has a B+ health rating.

Is Truist an ethical bank? ›

At Truist, we live our core values of trustworthy, caring, one team, success, and happiness. These values ensure we conduct business in a way that upholds high ethical standards to build upon our foundation of integrity and principled business conduct.

Is my money safe with Truist Bank? ›

We use a multi-layered strategy of technology and dedicated teams to help protect you and your finances from fraud and other security threats.

How strong is the Truist Bank? ›

Truist Bank
RatingS&PFitch
IssuerA / A-1A / F1
Depositsno ratingA+ / F1+
Senior unsecuredAA
SubordinatedA-A-
1 more row
May 8, 2024

Where does Truist Bank rank nationally? ›

#8 Truist Bank

Truist formed in 2019 when SunTrust and BB&T merged, creating the eighth-largest bank in the U.S.

Is Truist a Chinese bank? ›

Truist Financial Corporation is an American bank holding company headquartered in Charlotte, North Carolina.

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Margart Wisoky

Last Updated:

Views: 6021

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (78 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Margart Wisoky

Birthday: 1993-05-13

Address: 2113 Abernathy Knoll, New Tamerafurt, CT 66893-2169

Phone: +25815234346805

Job: Central Developer

Hobby: Machining, Pottery, Rafting, Cosplaying, Jogging, Taekwondo, Scouting

Introduction: My name is Margart Wisoky, I am a gorgeous, shiny, successful, beautiful, adventurous, excited, pleasant person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.